My Mitten CI notes: Comprehensible Input is alive!

23 Apr

I have just attended the Mitten CI conference in Saline, Michigan.

The conference was so well planned for the first year, even if it had been the 10th year they could not have planned better….

The presenters were amazing people that I have followed on Twitter and followed their blogs for years:  Carol Gaab, Darren Way, Kristy Placido, Teri Wiechart, Justin Slocum and more.

I learned so much from seeing CI firsthand and experiencing it from a student’s point of view.  It was really brought to life for me!  I plan to implement in small steps starting tomorrow.

I wanted to write this quick post to share my notes with all of you.  So here they are.  Feel free to make a copy for your own Google Drive.

Friday notes:  All day with Carol Gaab!  Firsthand learning and understanding.

Saturday Notes:  Keynote Speech, Teri Wiechart’s This is not your Gramma’s Grammar, Kristy Placido’s Content Based Instruction, Darren Way’s Transitioning to a CI Classroom, Niki Tottingham and Rebecca Collora’s Storytelling 101, and Justin Slocum’s Two Repeatable Activities

Now I am on the search for resources and stories.  Some great info and links were shared.  I will post them as I use them and have some insight.  Please comment if you have great resources!

 

 

One Response to “My Mitten CI notes: Comprehensible Input is alive!”

  1. domino's pizza promo May 21, 2017 at 9:15 am #

    I really wanted to write a small word so as to thank you for all the remarkable recommendations you are giving on this website. My prolonged internet research has now been compensated with professional knowledge to exchange with my two friends. I would admit that most of us website visitors are extremely fortunate to exist in a fantastic place with very many lovely individuals with valuable guidelines. I feel rather lucky to have discovered your entire web site and look forward to really more thrilling times reading here. Thanks a lot once again for a lot of things.

Leave a Reply

La Maestra Loca

Language Acquisition through CI and OWL strategies

My generation of polyglots

A language teacher's blog by Mike Peto

The Comprehensible Classroom

Best practice lesson plans, activities, and strategies for World Language courses

Grant Boulanger

Exploring the Convergence of Language Acquisition and the Arts

MJ's Comprehensible Input

CI rubber meets the road

SpanishPlans.org

Facilitating language acquisition through comprehensible input

The Electric Teacher

Electric resources for today's teachers

TPRS Teacher

Teaching Proficiency through Reading and Storytelling

Español para inmigrantes y refugiados

Blog de recursos para la enseñanza de español a inmigrantes y refugiados

Teaching a World Language

Sharing my own personal experiences and ideas on teaching the Spanish language in a comprehensible, engaging, culturally relevant way.

Classroom Aid

Connecting dots for digital learning and teaching

Bilinguish

Learning to communicate with the world

Leyendo leyendo, disfruto y aprendo

Blog de promoción de lectura, donde se compartirá: cuentos, poesias, textos, artículos para los estudiantes de educación inicial - grado primero y sus familias.

180 días en la clase de Sra. Rutherford

a #180blog To reflect on my teaching & celebrate the learning in my classroom, I will try to post 1 picture a day for the 180 days of the school year.

Creative Language Class

Ideas, solutions, and inspiration for world language teachers

My Spanish in Spain

Las mejores oportunidades a tu alcance

te(a)ch french

a chemist turned teacher...exploring with technology

Calico Spanish

Just another WordPress.com site

