Reading unit Day 1

8 May

I started a reading unit with my Spanish students today.  I am new at this so I am sharing what I did hoping for feedback….

We are reading the Clifford the Big Red Dog in Spanish.  I know…. not authentic.  One of my students gave me the set of ten books for Christmas.  I thought maybe we should use them.

Day 1 

I made a Power Point that had a cover of each book on a slide by itself.  Nothing else is on the slide.  We read the covers of the book and I checked to make sure they understood the title.  I had them think about what the picture on the cover was to show them one example of using context.

I had a Word document with the title of each book.  Students then folded a piece of paper into 10 parts.  In each part they wrote the title of a different book and made 2 predictions of what might happen in that book.  I instructed them to use very simple sentences and to only use the book, no dictionaries or translators.  They were surprised with how much Spanish they could remember and use.

At the end of the hour each pair of students was assigned a book.
That is as far as we got today.  I am having them save their predictions to see how close they were.

The end result will be a Newsletter they will have to create.  They will have to design a newsletter and include items such as a summary of the book, a description of the main character (Clifford), and advice column for an event in the book, a comic strip about the plot, and some advertisements, puzzles, etc.  

If you have any suggestions for some activities in between today & the final project, please share.  I am thinking about vocabulary montages, verb finds and the like.  

Gracias,  Penny

Leave a Reply

The Comprehensible Classroom

Best practice lesson plans, activities, and strategies for World Language courses

Grant Boulanger

Exploring the Convergence of Language Acquisition and the Arts

MJ's Comprehensible Input

CI rubber meets the road

SpanishPlans.org

Collection of Resources and Ideas for teaching Spanish

The Electric Teacher

Electric resources for today's teachers

TPRS Teacher

Teaching Proficiency through Reading and Storytelling

Español para inmigrantes y refugiados

Blog de recursos para la enseñanza de español a inmigrantes y refugiados

Teaching a World Language

Sharing my own personal experiences and ideas on teaching the Spanish language in a comprehensible, engaging, culturally relevant way.

Classroom Aid

Connecting dots for digital learning and teaching

Bilinguish

Learning to communicate with the world

Leyendo leyendo, disfruto y aprendo

Blog de promoción de lectura, donde se compartirá: cuentos, poesias, textos, artículos para los estudiantes de educación inicial - grado primero y sus familias.

180 días en la clase de Sra. Rutherford

a #180blog To reflect on my teaching & celebrate the learning in my classroom, I will try to post 1 picture a day for the 180 days of the school year.

Creative Language Class

Ideas, solutions, and inspiration for world language teachers

My Spanish in Spain

Las mejores oportunidades a tu alcance

te(a)ch french

a chemist turned teacher...exploring with technology

Calico Spanish

Just another WordPress.com site

Mis Musicuentos

Just another WordPress.com site

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

