Twitter for teaching

27 Mar

I only began tweeting about one year ago.  As the kids tell me now, I thought it was just to say that you were at Shamrock’s having an ice cream cone.  They don’t see the usefulness of it now as I didn’t then.

That changed when I began following teachers and educational technology experts.  I am not very good at keeping up with them, I don’t regularly monitor my account.  When I do check in I always have some great links and programs to check out.

My favorite thing to do with Twitter is the #langchat at 8pm on Thursday nights.  I have missed it the last couple of weeks because of our school play, so I am very excited to return to it this week.  It is so well organized with a topic for the night that the monitors keep us focused on.  The summary email and archive are the true treasures.  They can be found on this wiki.  Besides the Thursday #langchat, I search the hash tag occasionally and see some great resources.

I did learn that it is best to use “Tweet Chat” for the Thursday night chats.  It automatically adds the has tag, which occasionally I would forget in the excitement.  It also makes the chat appear on a larger screen so I can see more of the conversation.

I do give points to my students for tweeting.  It is an option on their homework page for the week.  I just have them use the hash tag #bccsp so I can search for them.

Other useful sites I have found regarding Twitter:

Cyberman’s list of Educational hash tags.

20 hash tags every teacher should know.

Top Hash Tags for Teachers

5 Ways Twitter has changed Education

Why Twitter

5 Essential Safety Tips for Introducing Twitter to Students

Why Educators should blog & tweet

A Spreadsheet of Educators on Twitter

Online Twitter book for Educators

12 Twitter Tips for the Classroom

Twitter 101: Rules for Newbies

Pictures made from various tweets.  Just a fun site.

What else is out there?

Penny

One Response to “Twitter for teaching”

  1. emmageraln March 27, 2012 at 11:57 am #

    Reblogged this on emmageraln.

Leave a Reply

The Comprehensible Classroom

Best practice lesson plans, activities, and strategies for World Language courses

Grant Boulanger

Exploring the Convergence of Language Acquisition and the Arts

MJ's Comprehensible Input

CI rubber meets the road

SpanishPlans.org

Collection of Resources and Ideas for teaching Spanish

The Electric Teacher

Electric resources for today's teachers

TPRS Teacher

Teaching Proficiency through Reading and Storytelling

Español para inmigrantes y refugiados

Blog de recursos para la enseñanza de español a inmigrantes y refugiados

Teaching a World Language

Sharing my own personal experiences and ideas on teaching the Spanish language in a comprehensible, engaging, culturally relevant way.

Classroom Aid

Connecting dots for digital learning and teaching

Bilinguish

Learning to communicate with the world

Leyendo leyendo, disfruto y aprendo

Blog de promoción de lectura, donde se compartirá: cuentos, poesias, textos, artículos para los estudiantes de educación inicial - grado primero y sus familias.

180 días en la clase de Sra. Rutherford

a #180blog To reflect on my teaching & celebrate the learning in my classroom, I will try to post 1 picture a day for the 180 days of the school year.

Creative Language Class

Ideas, solutions, and inspiration for world language teachers

My Spanish in Spain

Las mejores oportunidades a tu alcance

te(a)ch french

a chemist turned teacher...exploring with technology

Calico Spanish

Just another WordPress.com site

Mis Musicuentos

Just another WordPress.com site

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

